Skip to main content
padlock icon - secure page this page is secure

Profiles in Science for Science Librarians: Recent Top Award-Winning Geoscientists

Buy Article:

$47.50 + tax (Refund Policy)

Several awards are given in areas of the geosciences that are thought to be the highest honors in their field and generally considered to parallel the Nobel Prize. In atmospheric science, the highest award is the Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal given by the American Meteorological Society (AMS). The 2012 winner is John C. Wyngaard. For oceanography, the highest award is the Alexander Agassiz Medal, awarded by the U.S. National Academy of Sciences. The 2010 winner is Sallie W. Chisholm. For geology, the highest award is the Vetlesen Prize. The 2012 prize was split between climate scientists Susan Solomon and Jean Jouzel.
No Reference information available - sign in for access.
No Citation information available - sign in for access.
No Supplementary Data.
No Article Media
No Metrics

Keywords: Alexander Agassiz Medal; Carl-Gustaf Rossby Research Medal; Jean Jouzel; John Wyngaard; Nobel Prize; Sallie Chisholm; Susan Solomon; Vetlesen Prize; awards; bibliobiography; bibliography; biography; geoscience librarianship; scientists

Document Type: Research Article

Affiliations: Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas

Publication date: 01 April 2013

  • Access Key
  • Free content
  • Partial Free content
  • New content
  • Open access content
  • Partial Open access content
  • Subscribed content
  • Partial Subscribed content
  • Free trial content
Cookie Policy
Cookie Policy
Ingenta Connect website makes use of cookies so as to keep track of data that you have filled in. I am Happy with this Find out more