Skip to main content

Open Access The species of Alangium section Rhytidandra (Alangiaceae)

Download Article:
Alangium sect. Rhytidandra is confined to SE Asia, the Pacific and East Australia, and contains 13 species. Five species, viz. Alangium brassii, A. glabrum, A. gracile, A. guadalcanalense, and A. velutinum are described as new, whereas A. villosum subsp. solomonense is raised to specific rank: A. solomonense. Subspecies tomentosum formerly in A. villosum is transferred to another species and has become A. polyosmoides subsp. tomentosum. Finally Iodes ferruginea, described in Icacinaceae appeared to belong in Alangiaceae, and as the name ferruginea was occupied in Alangium it is changed into A. strigosum, nom. nov. A key to the species is presented, and the concerned taxa are enumerated, referenced, described, and two are figured.


Document Type: Research Article

Publication date: May 1, 2017

This article was made available online on April 20, 2017 as a Fast Track article with title: "The species of Alangium section Rhytidandra (Alangiaceae)".

More about this publication?
  • Blumea is an international journal on the biodiversity, evolution and biogeography of plants, including topics on systematics, floristics, phylogeny, morphology and anatomy. For floristic studies, the focus is on tropical Africa south of the Sahara, tropical Southeast Asia with a strong emphasis on Malesia, and South America with emphasis on the Guianas. Papers in Blumea are subjected to peer review and are in English. Blumea is published three times a year, comprising c. 300 pages in total.
    For more information please contact the Publishing Department of the National Herbarium of the Netherlands.

    Fast Track articles are available here
    If there are no articles shown in this section, all the Fast Track articles are published in the latest issue of Blumea.
  • Back issues for Blumea
  • Blumea Supplement Series
  • Ingenta Connect is not responsible for the content or availability of external websites
  • Access Key
  • Free content
  • Partial Free content
  • New content
  • Open access content
  • Partial Open access content
  • Subscribed content
  • Partial Subscribed content
  • Free trial content