Skip to main content
padlock icon - secure page this page is secure

Open Access Glomeromycota: two new classes and a new order

Download Article:
(PDF 899.9 kb)
Based on concomitant molecular analyses of the ribosomal gene and morphological characteristics, we divide the phylum Glomeromycota into three classes: Glomeromycetes, Archaeosporomycetes, and Paraglomeromycetes. Glomeromycetes are newly organized in three orders: Glomerales and Diversisporales, both forming typical vesicular arbuscular mycorrhiza with higher plants, and Gigasporales, forming arbuscular mycorrhiza without vesicles in the roots but with extra-radical auxiliary cells. Within the phylum, Archaeosporomycetes comprise exclusively bimorphic families and genera. The monogeneric Paraglomeromycetes species form glomoid spores that typically germinate directly through the spore wall instead through their subtending hyphae.

34 References.

No Supplementary Data.
No Article Media
No Metrics


Document Type: Research Article

Publication date: 09 September 2011

More about this publication?
  • Access Key
  • Free content
  • Partial Free content
  • New content
  • Open access content
  • Partial Open access content
  • Subscribed content
  • Partial Subscribed content
  • Free trial content
Cookie Policy
Cookie Policy
Ingenta Connect website makes use of cookies so as to keep track of data that you have filled in. I am Happy with this Find out more