Skip to main content
padlock icon - secure page this page is secure

INVENTING THE FUTURE

Buy Article:

$41.61 + tax (Refund Policy)

Dennis Gabor published a book in 1967 entitled, "Inventing The Future". In his book, he gives us an inspired vision of man's future, in the tradition of Wells, Haldane, Huxley and Orwell, although unlike some, he is optimistic. He sees for the first time how, through science, man can shape his natural environment. How he will actually shape it is largely a matter of free human choice, not the business of machines, nor of scientists, not even of psychologists; but the prerogative of inspired humanists, of poets and writers. It was man's ability to invent which has made human society what it is. This was a message ahead of its time and although the book received some recognition, I believe that in today's practice of planning, we are coming closer and closer to his concept.
No Reference information available - sign in for access.
No Citation information available - sign in for access.
No Supplementary Data.
No Article Media
No Metrics

Document Type: Research Article

Publication date: December 31, 1971

More about this publication?
  • Access Key
  • Free content
  • Partial Free content
  • New content
  • Open access content
  • Partial Open access content
  • Subscribed content
  • Partial Subscribed content
  • Free trial content
Cookie Policy
X
Cookie Policy
Ingenta Connect website makes use of cookies so as to keep track of data that you have filled in. I am Happy with this Find out more