Skip to main content

Sections of Exergue/Evocations/Dialogue with Timbre

Buy Article:

$55.00 plus tax (Refund Policy)


This article is a pastiche of brief thoughts that I hold on six important works by Helmut Lachenmann: Guero and Serynade for piano, his first string quartet, Gran Torso, a duo for guitars called Salut für Caudwell, his opera Das Mädchen mit den Schwefelhölzern, and his double concerto NUN. As a pianist, the thoughts on the techniques used in the two piano works are hopefully insightful to new pianists looking to broaden their repertoires. The other two works are discussed briefly and again mention some technical elements and my general reactions to them, this time from a listener's viewpoint. These sections come from a longer article with the same title.

Keywords: Extended Techniques; Guitar; Listening; Music Theatre; Opera; Piano; String Quartet

Document Type: Research Article


Publication date: 2004-09-01

More about this publication?
  • Access Key
  • Free ContentFree content
  • Partial Free ContentPartial Free content
  • New ContentNew content
  • Open Access ContentOpen access content
  • Partial Open Access ContentPartial Open access content
  • Subscribed ContentSubscribed content
  • Partial Subscribed ContentPartial Subscribed content
  • Free Trial ContentFree trial content
Cookie Policy
Cookie Policy
Ingenta Connect website makes use of cookies so as to keep track of data that you have filled in. I am Happy with this Find out more