Skip to main content

Structure families of superconducting oxides and interstitial alloys

Buy Article:

$43.90 plus tax (Refund Policy)


Ising-type analysis of superconducting cuprates shows that the layered structures are composed of perovskite, SrO and structural units with different interactions between oxygen atoms. The 45 structures for a combination of a maximum of eight structural units can be classified into 13 structural families which are named after the authors who synthesized the first compound or found superconducting properties, e.g. the Ruddlesden-Popper, Müller-Bednorz family with the sequence of coordination numbers (CN) of metal atoms . The number of layers is reduced if segregation, for example of a perovskite with CN 12 6 or of SrO with 6 coordination, is considered. Other compounds such as of the Lucas, Raveau series with the CN sequence occur only in a few cases because of a similar composition and lower stability. Another five structural families are obtained if the structural unit (4 8) is replaced by or if SrO is replaced by in the Aurivillius family.

Document Type: Miscellaneous

Publication date: January 1, 1998


Access Key

Free Content
Free content
New Content
New content
Open Access Content
Open access content
Subscribed Content
Subscribed content
Free Trial Content
Free trial content
Cookie Policy
Cookie Policy
ingentaconnect website makes use of cookies so as to keep track of data that you have filled in. I am Happy with this Find out more