Stanley Krippner and Allan Combs, The Neurophenomenology of Shamanism: An essay review

Authors: Krippner, S.1; Combs, A.2

Source: Journal of Consciousness Studies, Volume 9, Number 3, 2002 , pp. 77-82(6)

Publisher: Imprint Academic

Buy & download fulltext article:

OR

Price: $29.34 plus tax (Refund Policy)

Abstract:

Michael Winkelman, who is a senior lecturer in the department of anthropology, Arizona State University, and director of its ethnographic field school, has provided a rich overview of the neurophenomenology of shamanism in his book, Shamanism: The Neural Ecology of Consciousness. Written in the tradition of Laughlin, McManus, and d'Aquili's 1992 classic, Brain, Symbol, and Experience: Toward a Neurophenomenology of Consciousness, Winkelman considers shamanism in many of its facets. He explores shamanism's social and symbolic content, and the implications of its neurological underpinnings both for shamanic practitioners and for their clients.

Document Type: Research Article

Affiliations: 1: Email: skrippner@saybrook.edu 2: Email: combs@unca.edu

Publication date: January 1, 2002

Related content

Tools

Key

Free Content
Free content
New Content
New content
Open Access Content
Open access content
Subscribed Content
Subscribed content
Free Trial Content
Free trial content

Text size:

A | A | A | A
Share this item with others: These icons link to social bookmarking sites where readers can share and discover new web pages. print icon Print this page