Skip to main content


Buy Chapter:

$17.00 plus tax (Refund Policy)

Mauritius is a tiny island of 1,865 km2 situated in the Indian Ocean off the south east coast of the African continent. It was uninhabited when the Portuguese discovered it at the beginning of the 16th century. It was first settled by the Dutch in 1598, followed by the French in 1715 and by the British in 1810. The British were in control until 1968, when the country gained independence. Mauritius became a Republic in 1992 and forms part of the British Commonwealth.
No Reference information available - sign in for access.
No Citation information available - sign in for access.
No Supplementary Data.
No Article Media
No Metrics

Document Type: Research Article

Publication date: 14 June 2010

More about this publication?
  • Access Key
  • Free content
  • Partial Free content
  • New content
  • Open access content
  • Partial Open access content
  • Subscribed content
  • Partial Subscribed content
  • Free trial content
Cookie Policy
Cookie Policy
Ingenta Connect website makes use of cookies so as to keep track of data that you have filled in. I am Happy with this Find out more