Skip to main content

A subfamilial classification for the expanded asparagalean families Amaryllidaceae, Asparagaceae and Xanthorrhoeaceae

Buy Article:

$51.00 plus tax (Refund Policy)


We provide here a subfamilial scheme for the expanded asparagalean families Amaryllidaceae, Asparagaceae and Xanthorrhoeaceae. Our recommendation is that the first family has three subfamilies (Agapanthoideae, Allioideae and Amaryllidoideae), the second has seven (Agavoideae, Aphyllanthoideae, Asparagoideae, Brodiaeoideae, Lomandroideae, Nolinoideae and Scilloideae) and the last has three (Asphodeloideae, Hemerocallidoideae and Xanthorrhoeoideae). Tribal names are provided for the large subfamilies Allioideae, Amaryllidoideae and Scilloideae. The use of these subfamily names permits easier descriptions of characters by specialists for these well-supported subclades, but the use of the broader family limits greatly simplifies the taxonomy of Asparagales and thus makes the teaching of these families much easier. A new subfamilial name, Xanthorrhoeoideae, and a new tribal name, Oziroëeae, are proposed. © 2009 The Linnean Society of London, Botanical Journal of the Linnean Society, 2009, 161, 132–136.

Keywords: APG classification; Asparagales classification; Asparagales system; molecular phylogenetics; monocot classification

Document Type: Research Article


Affiliations: 1: L.H. Bailey Hortorium, Department of Plant Biology, 412 Mann Building, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 14853-4301, USA 2: Jodrell Laboratory, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, Richmond, Surrey, TW9 3DS, UK

Publication date: October 1, 2009


Access Key

Free Content
Free content
New Content
New content
Open Access Content
Open access content
Subscribed Content
Subscribed content
Free Trial Content
Free trial content
Cookie Policy
Cookie Policy
ingentaconnect website makes use of cookies so as to keep track of data that you have filled in. I am Happy with this Find out more